View Full Version : grizzlies vs demolition...
01-15-2008, 02:37 PM
in game 1 for the pro teams...
i was reading on thepiha.com (front page) and in the scoresheet that the OT goal was scored on a powerplay. is this true? if so, why was it not a penalty shot? I saw on the scoresheet that there was a penalty late in regulation that would have carried over to OT, but if it gets to OT, that automatically becomes a penalty shot right? I thought at any time in OT there is not supposed to be any PP advantages, even if the penalty occured in regulation and carries over to OT. anyone know the ruling on that?
01-15-2008, 02:44 PM
we have had over 4 games go into OT with a penalty on the clock...we play them 3-2 ..if for some reason it was a two man, it would go to 4-2. Then if a penalty is taken in OT, it is a penalty shot. That is how it was explained to us at least.
01-15-2008, 02:44 PM
I'm not sure Gene but if that's the case we should get an automatic win :D
01-15-2008, 02:52 PM
i just thought at no point in OT any team was to have a man advantage, regardless if there was penalty time left on the clock heading into OT. I just assumed if that happened, there would be a penalty shot right there. as long as everyone is running it the same way i guess it's fine. has anyone just taken the penalty shot right there? or do you finish the penalty in OT, like the gateway division and this occurrence in the grizzlies/demolition game?
This was the only time I've heard about it happening in the east, that's why I'm asking.
haha if that's the case Jack, maybe you should have them come down to take the penalty shot and if they miss, play OT and see who gets the extra point.
01-15-2008, 03:44 PM
You can have a man advantage heading into overtime, but once in OT all penalties are penalty shots. I'm pretty sure that the way Garland explained it is right.
01-15-2008, 05:25 PM
You do realize that if that was a rule about getting an automatic penalty shot for having a penalty carry over into OT it would be the dumbest rule ever. Think about it your tied with 1:59 seconds to go and you take a penalty and kill off 1:59 of that penalty but then the buzzer sounds and now because there is one second left on the clock the team that just had pretty much an entire powerplay gets to take a penalty shot now as well?????? Think the way the games are going now makes pretty good sense to me carry over into OT is a powerplay and anything occurring in OT is a penalty shot
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.