View Full Version : Rule Question
03-12-2004, 12:54 PM
We use USA Inline rules and a guy an my team got called for dealy of game for giving the puck to the goalie to freeze. The ref told us that in ice you can do that but not in roller. I have done that before and didn't get called. Can someone help me find the actual rule for this if it is true or if it is not.
I believe it is a judgement call as to whether there is a threatening offensive player around the puck or not....if there isn't, then whether you feed the puck to the goalie, or he traps it himself and holds with no challenge from an offensive player..it would or could be ruled "delay of game". Particularily if he had ample opportunity to put the puck back in play, but continued to hang onto it until a challenging offensive player arrived. If you pass the puck back to the goalie, from the offensive zone, effectively taking it out of play, and he does not immediately put it back in play..as stated above..I could see that being called as a delay of game.
The specifics of what you asked are not covered in the USA Inline rules, but simply listed as "any delay of game called on a goalkeeper shall be at the discretion of the referree"...meaning if he feels that the goalkeeper kept the puck "out of play" when he could have kept the play going, and without unduly giving the opposition a scoring opportunity...the goalie could be called for a delay penalty. Basically the same rule as ice....it becomes simply a question of what the referee feels was the intention of the play.
03-12-2004, 04:09 PM
I should have specified this in my first post. The delay of game was called on the player who gave it to the goalie to cover. There was an opposing player within about 5 feet of the puck and goalie. The explanation for the call was you can not give the goalie teh puck in Roller Hockey in that situation. I wasn't going to disagree but the call didn't make sense to me.
03-12-2004, 05:01 PM
As long as the player doesn't close his hand around the puck there shouldn't be a call.
Boston Storm Player/Coach (Regg Dunlop)
Darrell..I believe the penalty was called on the player for sending the puck back to the goalie, not on the goalie...
This sounds to me like a referree who needs to get a life, and spends his time dreaming up interpretations for imaginary situations where a discretionary call can be made.
I think you are quite right to question that call..maybe a call or email to the chief referree at USA Inline..to generate a written reply which you can then carry to your next encounter with this guy.....Of course you may find yourself in the penalty box with some frequency after.. lol..not all of those guys take kindly to advice no matter how well intended.....thank goodness they are not in the majority.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.